Fish & Chips

Fish is a food that I never used to eat, the fishy smell and small bones put me off. I decided to give it another chance last year when my homeopath put me on the candida diet. The list of food I could eat was limited – I was only allowed lean, easily digestible protein so my options were “Chicken or Fish”. I got quite sick of chicken every day and tried some hake and loved it! Fish is a great source of lean protein, it’s quick to cook and I always feel ‘light’ after eating it. Don’t get me wrong, I love my red meat too but it leaves me feeling heavy. So on to my recipe for healthy and tasty Fish & Chips!

Fish & Chips

Serves 2

Ingredients:

Fish & Fish Seasoning

  • Hake fillet (450 g) / Kingklip Fillet (I’ve defrosted & used 3 of the frozen portions from Woolworths)
  • Juice of 1 fresh lemon
  • 2-3 garlic cloves chopped finely or minced
  • 2-3 tbsp. of butter
  • Salt and pepper
  • Paprika

Oven Baked Sweet Potato Chips

  • 3 Sweet Potatoes (More if needed)
  • About 1-2 tbsp. corn flour
  • Salt and pepper
  • Paprika
  • Garlic powder/flakes
  • Olive Oil

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 180C. Get out a baking tray for the chips and a baking dish for the fish fillet. I cover the fish baking dish with tin-foil to make for easy cleaning.
  2. Peel and chop sweet potatoes into chips. I place the chips into a large bowl to coat in the seasoning but you can coat them anyway you’d like. Sprinkle the corn flour over the chips (I use a sifter); then some salt and pepper, paprika, garlic powder/flakes. Toss the chips to coat them all in the flour & spices. Then drizzle with olive oil and toss again.
  3. Pour the chips out onto your baking tray and arrange to fit. The chips will take longer to cook than the fish so pop them into the oven now for 15 minutes (The chips will take 30 minutes to cook; depending on the thickness of your fish it will need between 10-20 minutes. Be sure to adjust your timings so they’re ready at the same time).
  4. Whilst the chips get started in the oven, you can whip up the seasoning for your fish. Place the fish on the baking dish and pour over the lemon juice. Chop up / mince the garlic and add to a small microwave-proof dish with the butter. Pop in the microwave to melt. When melted, pour over the fish. Season with salt and pepper and sprinkle with paprika.
  5. When the 15 minutes are up on the chips take them out and turn before returning to the oven; add the fish to the oven and time again for 15 minutes (as mentioned above, the timings will differ depending on the size of your chips and fish).

 

This is one of my go-to weekday meals! Give it a try and let me know how it turns out!

Enjoy!

Sugar Free Fern | Sweet Potato Chips

Sugar Free Fern | Fish

Sugar Free Fern | Fish & Chips

Leave a Reply

